Annual Awards Dinner – the Winners are…

Annual Awards Dinner – the Winners are…


The Oscars, The Baftas, The Emmys, The Razzies – All these award ceremonies have one thing in common. No, not the razzmatazz of celebrity red carpets or the vast amounts of champagne drunk as guests listen to other people talk about how they would like to thank their cousin’s friend’s uncle. The fact is that they all pale to insignificance next to the BTS Annual Awards dinner.

In what must have been the most prestigious ceremony happening in the Christopher Wren hotel in Windsor on Saturday 10th November – some 60 members of the club packed away the lycra, found a dress or DJ they hadn’t worn for a while and came together to celebrate the best (and most embarrassing) moments of 2012.

Fantastically organised by Janice and Louise, the group enjoyed a champagne reception, 3 course meal with wine and a evening of Awards. Celebrating everything from the Club Champions to the fact that Chris Harris has see-through cycling shorts, there was much  laughter, mickey-taking and dancing through-out the evening. If nothing else the, the rather small man who did the dj-ing was worth a chuckle 🙂

As well as awards, the evening was also taken up with bidding for a number of Auction items, with the proceeds split between the club and our charity for the year – The Household Cavalry Operational Casulties Fund. Generosity from members, both to donate prizes and to put hands in their pockets meant several thousand pounds was raised.

Photos from the evening are available shortly

A full list of 2012 winners are :

Most Smiley Triathlete: Phillipa Le Roux
Best Newcomer: Ross Calthorpe
Most Embarrassing Moment: John Booker
Best Supporter: Max Phillis
Contribution to the Club: Janice Caldwell
Super Swim Coach: Christina Poulton
Super Spin Coach: Kenneth Schweighofer
Contribution to Coaching: Paul Mason
Most Improved Swimmer: Jane Drapkin
Most Improved Cyclist: Katy Walker
Most Improved Runner: David Lightbourne
Most Impressive Performance: Debbie Beadle
Most Improved Triathlete: Louise Croxson
Key Races Female Winner: Julia Hodkinson
Key Races Male Winner: Paul Fitzpatrick
Club League Female Winner: Louise Croxson
Club League Male Winner: Richard File
Club Champs Male Winner: David Lightbourne
Club Champs Female Winner: Louise Croxson
Women’s Captain Choice Award: Katy Walker
Men’s Captain Choice Award: Darran Messem
Chairman’s Shield: Chris Harris