2018 End of Season Banquet.

2018 End of Season Banquet.


While it’s called our End of Season banquet, a few hardy souls raced Ballbuster on the morning of our celebration officially kicking off next seasons race to be at the top of the points league. The remainder of the party wisely decided to save the legs for a bit of gambling as our 2018 awards banquet turned into Casino Night. Held at the MacDonald Hotel in Windsor, it was a great chance to enjoy a bit of banter, get some club recognition and have the opportunity to win some chips and prizes while not dressed in lycra or neoprene.



Over the course of dinner, the Club awarded a number of prizes to those deserving recognition of their efforts. While not everyone appreciated being a winner – let’s just say what goes around comes around in the Flying Dismount category – all was awarded with good humour and some good prizes.

Awards were given in several categories, with trophies changing hands in some, but defended for a second year in others (Challenge Cup, cough, cough). Several newcomers were also recognised and it was great to see a variety of individuals to cheer, applaud, mock and generally admire all the people who make the club what it is.

Once the awards were given, the auction and raffle began raising money for our chosen charity Arctic One. Ranging in size from physio sessions to cake, and from cottages by the seaside to a chance to ride in the Volvo team car for Madison Genesis – there was something for every member. After the last winning bid, aptly compared by Phil Hodkinson, the croupiers rolled in and the gambling started in earnest. Prizes were given to the top four chip winners after some interesting betting techniques knocked a couple of enthusiastic gamblers out early. Overall, a fun and friendly way to end the season with recognition and fun.

Below is the full set of winners – Lynda Hart, Social Chair

Award Winner
Best Newcomer Stephanie Muzzall
Contribution to Coaching Louise Croxson
Challenge cup – Men Chris Dollimore
Challenge cup – Women Lynda Hart
Inspiration Award Nicky Weeks
Flying dismount John Booker
Michael Kennedy Award / Most Helpful Phil Fazackerley
Club Champs – Men Ed Nunn
Club Champs – Women Kate Robinson
Inspiring Veterans Julia Hodkinson, Tom Rylance, Dick File, Lesley Kernaghan
Most Improved Overall Stuart Boorman
Best Ride Leader Coffee Stop Julia Hodkinson
Club League – Men Chris Dollimore
Club League – Women Kate Robinson
Contribution to Club Lynda Hart
Most Embarrassing Guy Grewal
Longstanding Service Julia Hodkinson
Wattage Bazooka Lesley Kernaghan
Chairman’s Award Paul Fitzpatrick
Recognising Worlds, Euros, Ironman April Edwards, David Dyer, Louise Croxson, Dan Brasier, Dick File, Paul Fitzpatrick, Julia Hodkinson, Kate Robinson, Lesley Kernaghan, Charles Ashwanden
Previous articleTour of Caffeine 2018
Next articleMarch 2019 Newsletter